Sign in to follow this  
Roman K

65c02 addressing modes usage

Question

I was playing a little with x86 assembly when I was a kid and now SUDDENLY decided to try some retrocomputing. The X16 was a pretty obvious reason, so I started learning the 6502 assembly. And that's HARD though I'm having a lot of fun.

The problem is that lots of books and tutorials answer the question 'WHAT' but never 'WHY'. Like they patiently explain how to work with different addressing modes but never when and why to use them. Book after book, tutorial after tutorial - everywhere I get the same info that is almost useless without the practical examples, not just "how to address that stuff".

I'd wanted to share my understanding of the potential usage of different addressing modes and ask for some clarification or better ideas if possible.

As we know, there are 16 addressing modes in total, 3 of them were added in 65c02.

1 - 3: Immediate, Accumulator and Implied modes are not technically 'addressing modes' as they have nothing to do with getting the memory location.

JMP and JSR instructions and their modes are somewhat special. Actually, JMP means Load PC counter (and JSR is the same, but with additional saving of the return address to stack). So technically what we call the Absolute mode for the JMP instruction is Immediate (take the immediate 2-BYTE value and put it to the PC register), what we call Indirect mode is Absolute for JMP (take the address that is stored on that location and put it to PC) and the same stuff for Absolute indirect addressing for JMP added in 65c02, it's just Absolute, X mode (take the address with the offset and put it to the PC register). That's not a critical addition, but quite important for me. And I've seen it only once. Though I'm not going to make exceptions for these instructions further.

So.