Ed Minchau

new game: Asteroid Commander

Posted (edited)

I've been noodling this game idea in my head for several years, and finally decided to do it on the Commander X-16.  This isn't in a playable format yet; I spent several months just generating the lookup tables for it, and this is the first time I've had anything at all to show.  I'm gong to use this thread to post updates and releases as progress happens.

Asteroid Commander will be a game sort of like SimCity, in space, with a storyline.  There's no sound in this video.

The asteroid is procedurally generated, and the image is raytraced - for certain very limited definitions of raytracing.  The shadows are very rough right now and I can see I have a bit of work to do on the ray maps, but the toughest part of the game engine is basically done.

Edited by Ed Minchau
  • Like 10

I love the look!  And of course I like the idea of a new sim game.

4 hours ago, rje said:

I love the look!  And of course I like the idea of a new sim game.

Thanks, but it's about to look much better, as I'm reworking the ray maps. This is just the medium view, there will also be a closeup view and a far-out view. And at the rate I'm going it'll take me a year to finish this.

Posted (edited)
6 minutes ago, Ed Minchau said:

Thanks, but it's about to look much better, as I'm reworking the ray maps. This is just the medium view, there will also be a closeup view and a far-out view. And at the rate I'm going it'll take me a year to finish this.

All of my hobby projects take awhile, and most of them don't get finished.  

So how do you want the sim to work?  

Oooh, I just had a thought that it could be combined with a space-station-building game. 

Since it's an asteroid colony, you'd have

• support buildings (power and life support)
  • science buildings (for contracts),
  • revenue buildings (mines, refineries, fabs?),
  • and habitats...