Colour Text and other tips for text displays

Nadia

Question

Hi It's been a few months since I have posted since I have been without a pc. I followed a few guides a couple months back but I am struggling to wrap my head around the Vera chip and displaying colors and graphics. I decided I wanted to make my own little text adventure game now that I have a new computer, but I don't know how to change the colour of the texts in the game and the background that the text would be displayed on. So if anyone could explain it to me or guide me towards the right answer I would appreciate it. I was also wondering if their was a good tutorial for the VERA chip that is for more novice programmers. I am very new to programming so this can be very hard for me to wrap my head around. Thanks to anyone who took the time to read and or answer.  ❤️ Nadia ❤️

7 answers to this question

56 minutes ago, Snickers11001001 said:

Are you programming in BASIC or will you be using something different?

I am using basic. It will be a basic CYOA game that I want to use some basic color text and use special petscii characters to make basic graphics.

You can use PETSCII codes to set both background and foreground color.

Something like this:

10 PRINT CHR$($81):REM SET FOREGROUND COLOR TO ORANGE
20 PRINT CHR$($01):REM SWAP FOREGROUND- AND BACKGROUND COLOR
30 PRINT CHR$($1F):REM SET FOREGROUND COLOR TO BLUE
40 PRINT "THIS TEXT IS BLUE ON ORANGE BACKGROUND"

You can find a table of the PETSCII codes here: https://cx16.dk/cx16-petscii/

If you are writing directly to VERA memory, you need to remember that in default text modes, each character on screen uses 2 bytes of VRAM.

The first byte contains the screencode of the character and the second byte contains the bacground- and foreground color.

So you write to VRAM like this:

10 VPOKE 0,0,0         :REM DISPLAY AN @ SIGN AT COORDINATE 0,0
20 VPOKE 0,1,$51       :REM MAKE IT WHITE ON GREEN