Sign in to follow this  
Damaniel

Question about switching memory banks

Question

Hopefully this isn't too dumb of a question, but I'm still relatively new to both 6502 assembly and the X16.  I'm doing some experimentation with swapping RAM banks in assembly.  The current documentation states that the RAM bank can be selected by writing the page number to $00 (in zero page), but the way that everyone else is doing it - and the only way that actually works - is to write the page number to $9F61.  Outside of looking at other peoples' source, I haven't found any clue as to why $9F61 is used (other than it being defined as part of the 'other external I/O devices' portion of the memory map).  Which option will be the correct behavior be on actual hardware?

4 answers to this question

20 minutes ago, Damaniel said:

Hopefully this isn't too dumb of a question, but I'm still relatively new to both 6502 assembly and the X16.  I'm doing some experimentation with swapping RAM banks in assembly.  The current documentation states that the RAM bank can be selected by writing the page number to $00 (in zero page), but the way that everyone else is doing it - and the only way that actually works - is to write the page number to $9F61.  Outside of looking at other peoples' source, I haven't found any clue as to why $9F61 is used (other than it being defined as part of the 'other external I/O devices' portion of the memory map).  Which option will be the correct behavior be on actual hardware?

The difference is that the documentation is effectively referring to emulator r38, which isn't out yet but would be up-to-date with the latest technical design decisions of the X16 if it were. Most people, on the other hand, are programming against emulator r37, where the ROM and RAM banks are selected on register $9F60 and $9F61, respectively.

On real hardware and on future releases of the emulator, $00 and $01 will be correct.

• Like 3

58 minutes ago, StephenHorn said: