desvox

Branching off Mid-Career - Where to begin?

Hi all, so I posted something on these lines in my Introduce Yourself post, but I think I would rather do a separate post here with more detail. It's kind of but not very off topic, so here goes!

Before everything, here's a bit of background. I am 35, and currently working in the mid-level management of an ecommerce portal. The money is decent but the work doesn't excite me. Gaming has always been a passion, and though I was away from it for the first few years of my working life, I am getting back into it now. Making a game of my own has always been a dream. Books like The Making Of Prince of Persia (Jordan Mechner) and Spelunky (Derek Yu) have also motivated me to give it a shot. However, I do not have any formal education or training in programming (I am a Mechanical Engineer, then an MBA)!

Coming from here, I am at point where I need to decide how I want to begin on this journey of making my first game. I am being 'cautiously ambitious' - I am looking at a small game that plays out maybe in an hour, is a side-scroller and has some metroidvania vibes (exploration, power ups, abilities though on small scale). The idea is to make a sort of a demo that I can publish and send off to studios and hopefully they like it enough to hire me. I am not good at art, so it is going to be pixel art (8-bit even), and minimal background artwork (think the dark bg of Prince 1 with just torches/windows to break the monotone).

I am looking for advice on what tools/platforms I should begin with. I am considering the following, and have listed down a few pros and cons for each (according to me):

1. A game purely targeted at the retro (8-bit) machines -- NES/C64/X16/ZXSpectrum etc using C/Assembly/BASIC
    • Pros --
      • A constrained environment, so game inherently would need to be simple. So in effect, the system would in a way define the scope and scale of the game.