SlithyMatt

• 3 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Matt!

I've watched the first few episodes (and I subscribed.) Good stuff! I have set up my dev environment and will be beginning coding is the next few days. Thank you very much for the time and effort you put into the videos.

Rick 

• Thanks 1

• 2 weeks later...

Wow! I didn't know the Commander X16 is capable of FM. I played around a lot with software synths over the years. FM is definitely one of the more interesting approaches to synthesis, if you ask me. There are so many directions you can take it in.

• Like 3

• 2 weeks later...

@SlithyMatt Hi I am a new programmer who is having a lot of difficultly understanding the assembly tutorials. I did some basic tutorials for the x16 but the program I want to write would be very difficult to write in basic, which I why I decided that assembly may be my best option. Do you have any advice for figuring out assembly for a beginner. I understand that I am calling things and preforming operations at certain hexadecimal addresses but when things like stack pointers are brought up it becomes very confusing and I have trouble understanding what is going on when I call these hexadecimal addresses. I understand that this is supposed to be more advanced because I am writing machine code, so I am not faulting your tutorials... just wondering if you have any advice to make it easier to understand.

There are plenty of tutorials for 6502 assembly out there (here is one that starts gently https://codeburst.io/an-introduction-to-6502-assembly-and-low-level-programming-7c11fa6b9cb9). It might not be a bad idea to do read a few such documents before jumping into videos.