CursorKeys

How to use the "S" command in monitor

Question

Hi!

I hope I am not repeating and old question, but I am just getting into the X16, and I did search the forums, and found no answer.

I am trying the monitor "MON", inside the X16 emulator, to write a rudimentary assembly program. 

However I have issues with the "S" command.

I checked the syntax for the save (S) command over here: https://rr.pokefinder.org/rrwiki/images/7/70/Final_Cartridge_III_english_Manual.pdf (search for THE MONITOR [12.0] )

Syntax:  S "<file-name>",xx,yyyy,zzzz            
    xx = device number  01 for tape 08 for disk
    yyyy = the start location of the program
    zzzz = the end location of the program + 1

I tried to save memory location $2000 to $2100 to disk, below are my attempts:

Attempt1, assume, device is 8

S "TST",8,2000,2100

fails, output -> S "TST",8,?000,2100 (see the ? sign in the output on the left)

Attempt2, assume, device is 1

S "TST",1,2000,2100

fails, output -> S "TST",1,?000,2100

Attempt3, assume, device is not needed

S "TST",2000,2100

fails, output -> S "TST",20?0,2100

So I assume the second param must be the device, as well on the X16, but I am not sure which. Since attempt 3 marked the second param as wrong.

So I tried from 0 up to 9, no differences.

Then I maybe the syntax of the start address is wrong.

Attempt4, assume, address starts with $

S "TST",8,$2000,$2100

fails, output -> S "TST",8,?2000,$2100

Then I was thinking maybe param nr 3 is a string, so I tried as well, and what about if the addresses are supposed to be "large" addresses, which I tried as well.

No luck so far.  Any help appreciated!

Thanks

/C

5 answers to this question

I think for the second argument, the device, it needs to be two digits, so

S "TST",08,2000,2100